[Comp-neuro] Call for abstracts, AMAM 2019, Adaptive motion in animals and machines, Aug 20-23 2019, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

Auke Ijspeert auke.ijspeert at epfl.ch
Wed Feb 13 19:54:32 CET 2019

AMAM 2019, Adaptive Motion in Animals and Machines, Aug 20-23 2019, 
EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland


Call for abstracts, deadline March 8th, 2019

Investigating how animals and humans excel at adaptive movements can 
help engineers to improve the adaptive capabilities of robots. In 
return, robots can serve as scientific tools to explore the basic 
principles of biological systems, in particular the neuromechanical 
mechanisms underlying their fascinating motor abilities. AMAM 2019 is 
the 9th international symposium dedicated to stimulate fruitful 
interactions among biologists and engineers interested in adaptive 
motion. It aims at bringing together researchers in robotics, 
biomechanics, neuroscience, sports science, and other fields related to 
motor behavior in biological and artificial systems. Previous symposia 
were held in Montreal, Canada (2000); Kyoto, Japan (2003); Ilmenau, 
Germany (2005); Cleveland, USA (2008); Awaji, Japan (2011); Darmstadt, 
Germany (2013); Cambridge, USA (2015); and Sapporo, Japan (2017).

Two-page abstract contributions are invited from all areas pertaining to 
adaptive motion in animals and machines. Accepted abstracts will be 
presented in poster sessions and short high-light presentations (3 
slides, 2 min). Plenty of time will be dedicated for fruitful 
discussions among participants. Invited talks will be presented in oral 
sessions in a single track (see the exciting list of speakers below). We 
also encourage participants to contribute hardware demonstrations, as 
part of the ‘Robot Zoo’@AMAM2019. See https://amam2019.epfl.ch/ for 

Important dates:

  * March 8th, 2019    Deadline of extended abstracts submission
  * April 12th, 2019    Notification of acceptance for extended abstracts
  * May 31st, 2019     Deadline of submission for Robot Zoo (Robot Demos)
  * August 20-23, 2019  Conference

Sponsors: Swiss National Science Foundation and Maxon 

Plenary speakers:

  * Grégoire Courtine, EPFL, Switzerland
  * Monica Daley, Royal Veterinary College, UK
  * Dario Floreano, EPFL, Switzerland
  * Radhika Nagpal, Harvard University, USA
  * Lena Ting, Emory University & Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  * Herman van der Kooij, University of Twente & Delft University of
    Technology, Netherlands

Invited speakers:

  * Shinya Aoi, Kyoto University, Japan
  * David Franklin, Technische Universität München, Germany
  * John Hutchinson, Royal Veterinary College, UK
  * Tetsuya Iwasaki, University of California, Los Angeles, USA
  * Katsushi Kagaya, Kyoto University, Japan
  * Sangbae Kim, MIT, USA
  * Megan Leftwich, The George Washington University, USA
  * David Lentink, Stanford University, USA
  * Charlotte Le Mouel, Max Planck Institute for Intelligent Systems,
  * Poramate Manoonpong, University of Southern Denmark, Denmark
  * Kamilo Melo, EPFL, Switzerland
  * Katja Mombaur, Heidelberg University, Germany
  * Beth Mortimer, University of Oxford, UK
  * Ulrike Müller, California State University, Fresno, USA
  * Jamie Paik, EPFL, Switzerland
  * Pavan Ramdya, EPFL, Switzerland
  * Chris Richards, Royal Veterinary College, UK
  * Nidhi Seethapathi, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  * Simon Sponberg, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  * Emily Standen, University of Ottawa, Canada
  * Dagmar Sternad, Northeastern University, USA
  * Barbara Webb, University of Edinburgh, UK
  * Kotaro Yasui, Tohoku University, Japan

Program Committee:

  * Hitoshi Aonuma, Hokkaido University, Japan
  * Jordan Boyle, Leeds University, UK
  * Monica Daley, Royal Veterinary College, UK
  * Koh Hosoda, Osaka University, Japan
  * Fumiya Iida, Cambridge, UK
  * Auke Ijspeert, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland
  * Akio Ishiguro, Tohoku University, Japan
  * Masato Ishikawa, Osaka University, Japan
  * Takeshi Kano, Tohoku University, Japan
  * Sangbae Kim, MIT, USA
  * Jun Nishii, Yamaguchi University, Japan
  * Dai Owaki, Tohoku University, Japan
  * Andre Seyfarth, TU Darmstadt, Germany
  * Emily Standen, University of Ottawa, Canada
  * Dagmar Sternad, Northeastern University, USA
  * Barry Trimmer, Tufts University, USA
  * Eric Tytell, Tufts University, USA
  * Hartmut Witte, TU Ilmenau, Germany

Local organization committee:

  * Jonathan Arreguit
  * Alessandro Crespi
  * Florin Dzeladini
  * Peter Eckert
  * Sylvie Fiaux
  * Anne Koelewijn
  * Mehmet Mutlu
  * Laura Páez
  * Amy Wu

Prof Auke Jan Ijspeert
Biorobotics Laboratory
EPFL-STI-IBI-BIOROB, ME D1 1226, Station 9
EPFL, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
CH 1015 Lausanne, Switzerland

Office: ME D1 1226   Tel: +41 21 693 2658    Fax: +41 21 693 3705
www:http://biorob.epfl.ch            Email:Auke.Ijspeert at epfl.ch

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://www.tnb.ua.ac.be/pipermail/comp-neuro/attachments/20190213/64570318/attachment.html>

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list