[Comp-neuro] COSYNE 2018: Abstract submission closes soon, Registration, Travel grants

Tomas Hromadka tomas.hromadka at gmail.com
Tue Nov 7 00:16:13 CET 2017


Computational and Systems Neuroscience 2018 (Cosyne)

01 - 04 March 2018
Denver, Colorado

05 - 06 March 2018
Breckenridge, Colorado




  Abstract submission is now open.
  *Abstract submission deadline: 20 November 2017*
  Online registration opens: 10 November 2017
  Travel grant submission opens: 10 November 2017


The annual Cosyne meeting provides an inclusive forum for the exchange
of empirical and theoretical approaches to problems in systems
neuroscience, in order to understand how neural systems function.

The MAIN MEETING is single-track. A set of invited talks is selected by
the Executive Committee, and additional talks and posters are selected
by the Program Committee, based on submitted abstracts. The WORKSHOPS
feature in-depth discussion of current topics of interest, in a small
group setting. For details on workshop proposals please see below or
visit Cosyne.org -> Workshops.

Cosyne topics include but are not limited to: neural coding, natural
scene statistics, dendritic computation, neural basis of persistent
activity, nonlinear receptive field mapping, representations of time and
sequence, reward systems, decision-making, synaptic plasticity, map
formation and plasticity, population coding, attention, and computation
with spiking networks.

This year we would like to foster increased participation from
experimental groups as well as computational ones. Please circulate
widely and encourage your students and postdocs to apply.

When preparing an abstract, authors should be aware that not all
abstracts can be accepted for the meeting, due to space constraints.
Abstracts will be selected based on the clarity with which they convey
the substance, significance, and originality of the work to be presented.

For more information and details on submitting abstracts please visit
Cosyne.org -> Abstracts.

                TRAVEL GRANTS

Applications are now open for travel grants to attend the conference.
Each awardee will receive at least $500 to help offset the costs of
travel, registration, and accommodations. Larger grants may be available
to those traveling from outside North America. Special consideration is
given to scientists who have not previously attended the meeting,
under-represented minorities, students who are attending the meeting
together with a mentor, undergraduate students, and authors of submitted
Cosyne abstracts. We currently offer four travel grant programs for New
Attendees, Presenters, Mentors, and Undergraduates. For details on
applying, see Cosyne.org -> Travel grants.


  Tim Behrens (Oxford)
  Josh Berke (UCSF)
  Tiago Branco (UCL)
  Jessica Cardin (Yale)
  Claudia Clopath (Imperial)
  Marlene Cohen (Pittsburgh)
  Iain Couzin (Max-Planck)
  Carina Curto (Penn State)
  Ann Graybiel (MIT)
  Vivek Jayaraman (Janelia)
  Mate Lengyel (Cambridge)
  Joni Wallis (Berkeley)
  Byron Yu (CMU)

  General Chairs: Ilana Witten (Princeton) and Eric Shea-Brown (U
  Program Chairs: Linda Wilbrecht (Berkeley) and Brent Doiron (U Pittsburgh)
  Workshop Chairs: Laura Busse (LMU) and Ralf Haefner (U Rochester)
  Undergraduate Travel Chairs: Angela Langdon (Princeton) and Robert
Wilson (U Arizona)
  Publicity Chair: Il Memming Park (Stony Brook)
  Development Chair: Michael Long (NYU)

  Stephanie Palmer (U Chicago)
  Zachary Mainen (Champalimaud)
  Alexandre Pouget (U Geneva)
  Anthony Zador (CSHL)

   meeting [at] cosyne.org


Please consider adding yourself to Cosyne mailing lists (groups) to
receive email updates with various Cosyne-related information and join
in helpful discussions. See Cosyne.org -> Mailing lists for details.

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list