[Comp-neuro] CfP: Workshop on Symbiotic Interaction 2015 in Berlin

Matthias Schultze-Kraft schultze-kraft at tu-berlin.de
Thu Feb 19 13:33:04 CET 2015

* Call for Participation and Contributions *

International Workshop on Symbiotic Interaction
Berlin, 7th and 8th of October 2015
Technische Universität Berlin, Germany


The Symbiotic Workshop presents an overview of the symbiotic relationships 
between humans and computers as well as novel advancements therein. There will 
be organized sessions and room for free discussions to shape the concepts, 
goals, and directions of this new field of research. The idea of symbiotic 
systems put forward in this workshop capitalises on the computers’ ability to 
implicitly (even subliminally) detect the users goals and psycho-physiological 
states and thereby enhancing human-computer interaction (HCI) without subducting 
control from the human. A special focus of this year’s Symbiotic Workshop will 
be on physiological computing approaches, e.g. using brain-computer interface 
(BCI) technology.

Call for Contributions include Research Papers (12 pages including references) 
or Posters and Demos (6 pages) that contribute to an emergent community 
investigating Symbiotic Interaction as a future paradigm with theories and 
conceptual frameworks, experimental paradigms and user studies, multi-modal data 
analysis and design driven research. Submission guidelines are available from 

The proceedings (including research papers as well as short papers for posters 
and demos) will be published in LNCS Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science. 
Contributions can be submitted at 

Important dates
Submission Deadline:      Wednesday, May 25, 2015
Notification of acceptance: Tuesday, July 5, 2015
Submission of final papers: Monday, July 25, 2015


* General Chairs
- Benjamin Blankertz, Technische Universität Berlin
- Giulio Jacucci, University of Helsinki

* Program Chairs
- Luciano Gamberini, University of Padova
- Anna Spagnolli, University of Padova
- Jonathan Freeman, Goldsmiths University

* Program Committee (to be completed)
- Laura Acqualagna, Technische Universität Berlin
- Oswald Barral, University of Helsinki
- Benjamin Blankertz, Technische Universität Berlin
- Marc Cavazza, Teesside University
- Ricardo Chavarriaga, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne
- Cristina Conati, University of British Columbia
- Peter Desain, Radboud University Nijmegen
- Manuel Eugster, Aalto University
- Stephen Fairclough, Liverpool John Moores University
- Siamac Fazli, Korea University
- Jonathan Freeman, Goldsmiths University
- Luciano Gamberini, University of Padova
- Hans Gellersen, Lancaster University
- Dorota Glowacka, University of Helsinki
- Giulio Jacucci, University of Helsinki
- David Kirsh, UC San Diego
- Juan C. Moreno, Cajal Institute, CSIC
- Anton Nijholt, University of Twente
- Andreas Riener, Johannes Kepler University Linz
- Tuukka Ruotsalo, Aalto University
- Paul Sajda, Columbia University
- Erin Solovey, Drexel University
- Michiel Sovijärvi-Spapé, Aalto University
- Anna Spagnolli, University of Padova
- Paul Verschure, Universitat Pompeu Fabra Barcelona
- Markus Wenzel, Technische Universität Berlin

For queries about the conference, please contact:
- Benjamin Blankertz <benjamin.blankertz at tu-berlin.de> or
- Giulio Jacucci <giulio.jacucci at helsinki.fi>

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list