[Comp-neuro] MBL Methods in Computational Neuroscience Course 2014: applications due March 6

Mark Goldman msgoldman at ucdavis.edu
Sat Jan 25 07:50:08 CET 2014

Applications are open for the Methods in Computational Neuroscience 
course at the Marine Biology Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA.  The course 
will run from July 30 to August 27, 2014, and the online application 
form can be found at: 
http://ws2.mbl.edu/studentapp/studentapp.asp?CourseID=MCN. The course 
application deadline is March 6.

The course covers a range of topics in computational neuroscience 
including neuronal biophysics, neural coding & information processing, 
circuit dynamics, learning & memory, motor control, and cognitive 
processing & disease.  In addition, numerous tutorials and problem sets 
will cover a broad range of computational and mathematical modeling 
methods.  The course strongly emphasizes the collaboration between 
theory and experiment in solving neuroscience problems, and lectures 
will be given by a mixture of theorists and experimentalists.  The final 
weeks of the course will primarily be reserved for development and work 
on projects that students design in collaboration with the resident 
faculty. Further information can be found on the MCN website: 

2014 Course Directors:
Michale Fee, MIT
Mark Goldman, UC Davis

2014 Invited Faculty (most confirmed):
Larry Abbott, Columbia University
Steve Baccus, Stanford University
William Bialek, Princeton University
Carlos Brody, Princeton University
Dmitri Chklovskii, HHMI Janelia Farm
Nathaniel Daw, New York University
Bard Ermentrout, University of Pittsburgh
Adrienne Fairhall, University of Washington
Ila Fiete, UT Austin
Loren Frank, UCSF
Jack Gallant, UC Berkeley
Surya Ganguli, Stanford University
David Kleinfeld, UC San Diego
Peter Latham, University College London
Tim Lewis, UC Davis
John Lisman, Brandeis University
Eve Marder, Brandeis University
Bartlett Mel, University of Southern California
Liam Paninski, Columbia University
Jonathan Pillow, UT Austin
David Redish, University of Minnesota
John Rinzel, New York University
Jonathan Rubin, University of Pittsburgh
Nate Sawtell, Columbia University
Maurice Smith, Harvard Univeresity
Sara Solla, Northwestern University
Haim Sompolinsky, Hebrew University
David Tank, Princeton University
Misha Tsodyks, Weizmann Institute

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list