[Comp-neuro] MBL Computational Neuroscience Course 2013: registration deadline March 6

Mark Goldman msgoldman at ucdavis.edu
Sat Feb 23 03:07:17 CET 2013

Applications are open for the Methods in Computational Neuroscience 
course at the Marine Biology Laboratory in Woods Hole, MA.  The course 
dates will be July 31 - August 28, 2013, and the online application form 
can be found at: 
http://hermes.mbl.edu/education/admissions/applications/index.html. Note 
that the course application deadline is *March 6*.

The course covers a range of topics in computational neuroscience 
including neuronal biophysics, neural coding & information processing, 
circuit dynamics, learning & memory, motor control, and cognitive 
processing & disease.  In addition, numerous tutorials and problem sets 
will cover a broad range of computational and mathematical modeling 
methods.  The course strongly emphasizes the collaboration between 
theory and experiment in solving neuroscience problems, and lectures 
will be given by a mixture of theorists and experimentalists.  The final 
weeks of the course will primarily be reserved for development and work 
on projects that students design in collaboration with the resident 
faculty.   Further information can be found on the course website: 

2013 Course Directors:
Michale Fee, MIT
Mark Goldman, UC Davis

2013 Confirmed Faculty:
Larry Abbott, Columbia University
Steve Baccus, Stanford University
Bruce Bean, Harvard Medical School
Curtis Bell, Oregon Health & Science University
William Bialek, Princeton University
Carlos Brody, Princeton University
Dmitri Chklovskii, HHMI Janelia Farm
Peter Dayan, University College London
Karl Deisseroth, Stanford University
Bard Ermentrout, University of Pittsburgh
Adrienne Fairhall, University of Washington
Ila Fiete, UT Austin
Rob Froemke, NYU School of Medicine
Jack Gallant, UC Berkeley
Surya Ganguli, Stanford University
Michael Hausser, University College London
David Kleinfeld, UC San Diego
Nancy Kopell, Boston University
John Lisman, Brandeis University
Eve Marder, Brandeis University
Bartlett Mel, University of Southern California
Ken Miller, Columbia University
Edvard Moser, NTNU, Norway
Yael Niv, Princeton University
Jonathan Pillow, UT Austin
Sebastian Seung, MIT
Andrew Schwartz, University of Pittsburgh
Eric Shea-Brown, University of Washington
Sara Solla, Northwestern University
Haim Sompolinsky, Hebrew University
David Tank, Princeton University
Daniel Wolpert, Cambridge University

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list