[Comp-neuro] FINAL CALL FOR POSTERS - 18th Annual Dynamical Neuroscience Meeting

Glanzman, Dennis (NIH/NIMH) [E] dglanzma at mail.nih.gov
Mon Sep 27 18:09:44 CEST 2010


18th Annual Dynamical Neuroscience Satellite Symposium

The Resting Brain: Not At Rest!

Preceding the 40th Annual Meeting of the Society for Neuroscience

Thursday and Friday, November 11-12, 2010

Manchester Grand Hyatt Hotel, San Diego, CA

The theme of this year's meeting emphasizes the role of endogenous, ongoing activity (and noise) in determining behavior.  The concept of "the brain at rest" has received much current interest as technologies have evolved which allow measuring electrical and physiological activity during periods when the subject is not engaged in pursuing any active physical or cognitive activities.

In addition to being active at rest, the brain continuously monitors both internal and external environments, processes information, and alters its activity enabling it to orchestrate specific behaviours regard-less of ongoing tasks.  As an example, considerable recent research activity has been devoted to examining how the phase of ongoing EEG oscillations influence ensuing perception or motor activities.  Other areas focus on how correlations of activity across brain regions during rest are related to memory for recent experiences.

Resting state functional connectivity shows characteristic changes in various psychiatric and neurological disorders, and a better understanding of the relationship between brain state and its induced activity due to task demands would broaden our understanding of how alterations in this relationship may be relevant to these illnesses.

Submission Deadline

Poster abstracts must be received by C.O.B. on October 15, 2010
to ensure that they will appear in the printed programme booklet.
You will need to register for the meeting to submit a poster.

Invited Speakers

Kwabena Boahen, Lila Davachi, Michael Fee, Michael Hasselmo
Eugene Izhikevich, Vinod Menon, Earl Miller, Tirin Moore, Yuval Nir
Sheila Nirenberg, Patricio O'Donnell, Marcus Raichle and Matthew Wilson

Keynote Address

Winner of the 3rd Annual Swartz Prize in Computational Neuroscience

Symposium Organizers

Jonathan Victor, Weill Cornell Medical College, and Dennis Glanzman, NIMH/NIH

For logistical information please contact Nakia Wilson, The Dixon Group, Inc., (202)-281-2825, nwilson at dixongroup.com

For programmatic information, please contact Dennis Glanzman, NIMH/NIH, (301) 443-1576, glanzman at nih.gov

To register for the meeting and submit a poster, please use this website:  http://neuro.dgimeetings.com

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: http://www.neuroinf.org/pipermail/comp-neuro/attachments/20100927/f5fe379e/attachment.html

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list