[Comp-neuro] ICML 2008 Call for Papers

Sam Roweis roweis at cs.toronto.edu
Thu Jan 3 19:16:05 CET 2008

The 25th International Conference On Machine Learning (ICML-2008)
                 July 5-9, 2008, Helsinki, Finland

                          Call For Papers

ICML 2008 invites submission of papers on substantial, original, and
previously unpublished research in all aspects of machine learning.

We welcome submissions of innovative work on systems that are self
adaptive, systems that improve their own performance, or systems that
apply logical, statistical, probabilistic or other formalisms to the
analysis of data, learning predictive models, or interaction with the
environment.  We welcome innovative applications, theoretical
contributions, carefully evaluated empirical studies, and we
particularly welcome work that combines all of these.  We also
encourage submissions that bridge the gap between machine learning and
other fields of research.

ICML 2008 will be held in Helsinki, Finland, July 5-9, 2008, and be
co-located with the Uncertainty in Artificial Intelligence Conference
(UAI), and the Conference on Learning Theory (COLT), July 9-12.


Friday February 8:   Full paper submissions due
                    (no separate abstract due date)
Monday March 17:     Reviews available
Wednesday March 19:  Author responses due
Monday April 7:      Acceptance notification
Friday April 25:     Final camera-ready version due

July 5:              ICML Tutorials
July 6-8:            ICML Conference
July 9:              ICML/UAI/COLT Joint Workshops Day
July 10-12:          UAI Conference and COLT Conferences

Format of the Conference

The conference will include three days of technical presentations, one
day of tutorials and one day of workshops.  Accepted papers will each
have an oral presentation as well as a poster in an evening poster
session.  There will also be talks by several invited speakers, and a


Awards will be given for Best Paper(s), Best Student Paper(s)
(first-authored by a student), Best Application Paper, 10-year Best
Paper (most influential paper of ICML 1998).


Submission format, details and style files will soon be available on
the ICML 2008 website http://icml2008.cs.helsinki.fi.  Submission of
papers and the paper reviewing process for ICML 2008 will be entirely

Review Process

Papers submitted to ICML 2008 will normally be reviewed by three (but
at least two) referees.  Authors will be given the opportunity to
provide short feedback to the reviews before the final decision is
made.  Reviewing for ICML 2008 will be blind to the identities of the

ICML 2008 will not accept any paper that is substantially similar to
another paper that is currently under review or has already been
accepted for publication in a journal or another conference.  Please
clearly indicate which contributions are novel and which are previous
work, either by the authors or others.  If a paper submitted to
ICML2008 and another already published or already submitted paper
contain substantial overlap in content and the content is not clearly
indicated (anonymously) as being previous work then the ICML
submission may be rejected on the grounds of being a dual submission.
Authors are also not permitted to submit their papers elsewhere during
ICML's review period.

General Chair:
William Cohen           Carnegie Mellon University

Program Chairs:
Andrew McCallum         University of Massachusetts Amherst
Sam Roweis              University of Toronto & Google

Senior Program Committee:
David Blei              Princeton University
Leon Bottou             NEC Laboratories America
Michael Bowling         University of Alberta
Carla Brodley           Tufts University
Wray Buntine            Australian National University
Joaquin Candela         Microsoft Research
Michael Collins         Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nello Cristianini       University of Bristol
Luc De Raedt            University of Freiburg
Pedro Domingos          University of Washington
Peter Flach             University of Bristol
David Forsyth           University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Johannes Fuernkranz     Technical University Darmstadt
Lise Getoor             University of Maryland
Mark Girolami           University of Glasgow
Amy Greenwald           Brown University
Russ Greiner            University of Alberta
Carlos Guestrin         Carnegie Mellon University
Sven Koenig             University of Southern California
Neil Lawrence           University of Manchester
Ryan McDonald           Google
Steven Minton           Fetch Technologies
David Page              University of Wisconsin
Diona Precup            McGill University
Carl Rasmussen          Cambridge University
Nicholas Roy            Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sunita Sarawagi         Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Lawrence Saul           University of California San Diego
Dale Schuurmans         University of Alberta
Michele Sebag           Universite Paris-Sud
John Shawe-Taylor       University College London
Nathan Srebro           Toyota Technological Institute
Richard Sutton          University of Alberta
Yee Whye Teh            Gatsby Unit, University College London
Luis Torgo              University of Porto
Manfred Warmuth         University of California Santa Cruz
Max Welling             University of California Irvine
ChengXiang Zhai         University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Alice Zheng             Microsoft Research

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list