[Comp-neuro] 2nd C.f. Participation: EPFL-LATSIS Symposium 2006

Jonas Buchli jonas at buchli.org
Mon Feb 6 10:16:49 CET 2006

<<Please post/forward as you see fit>>

* EPFL-LATSIS Symposium 2006 
* --------------------------
* 2nd Call for Participation

We invite you to participate in the 

EPFL-LATSIS Symposium 2006  
Dynamical Principles for Neuroscience and Intelligent Biomimetic Devices

March, 8-10, 2006, (Registration deadline: February 13 !)
Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland

Aim of the Conference 

The goal of the conference is to bring together scientists and engineers
interested in understanding the dynamical properties of the nervous
system, and in taking inspiration from those properties for the design
of prosthetic and robotic devices. The conference is interdisciplinary
in nature, and aims at bringing together researchers working on similar
topics and phenomena but from different backgrounds. 

The conference is made possible thanks to the generous support of the
Latsis Foundation. The presentations will consists of a series of
invited talks (see below) and of poster presentations (with short poster

For more background on the aim of the conference, please visit


Registration for the EPFL-LATSIS Symposium 2006 is open. Please visit
the following website for information and registration form:


Important Dates

Registration deadline: February 13, 2006
Conference dates: March 8-10, 2006

Invited Speakers & Program

Program website: http://latsis2006.epfl.ch/page13385.html

Dynamics of brain function and behavior

    * Avis Cohen (University of Maryland)
    * Sten Grillner (Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm)
    * Serge Rossignol (Université de Montréal)
    * Carmen Sandi (EPFL)
    * Allen Selverston (UC San Diego) 

Nonlinear Dynamics and neural computation

    * Bard Ermentrout (University of Pittsburgh)
    * Wulfram Gerstner (EPFL)
    * Martin Hasler (EPFL)
    * Wolfgang Maass (TU Graz)
    * Misha Rabinovich (UC San Diego)
    * Misha Tsodyks (Weizmann Institute of Science) 


    * Maria Chiara Carrozza (Scuola Superiore Sant'Anna, Pisa)
    * Philippe Renaud (EPFL)
    * Andrew Schwartz (University of Pittsburgh) 

Hybrid circuits and electronic neurons

    * Thierry Bal (Unic / CNRS)
    * Rodney Douglas (ETHZ, Zurich)
    * Peter Fromherz (Max-Planck-Institute for Biochemistry,
    * Gwendal Le Masson (University of Bordeaux) 

Biomimetic Robotics and Control

    * Jean-Louis Deneubourg (Univ. libre de Bruxelles)
    * Auke Jan Ijspeert (EPFL)
    * Yasuo Kuniyoshi (University of Tokyo)
    * Jean-Jacques Slotine (MIT)
    * Barbara Webb (University of Edinburgh) 

Abstract submission

We still have a few poster slots free. People interested in presenting a
poster at the Symposium can send us a poster abstract until 

February 13. 

Note that by that date the abstract needs to be received in the correct
and final format as we have to send the booklets into print after that. 
See the following page for templates and formatting/submission details: 

Note that we will not have a full peer review process, the number of
posters that we can accept is however limited. Thus, we will accept the
contributions depending on relevance to the conference topics, quality,
and available place. Once accepted, presenters will have the opportunity
to present their work with a poster, as well as a short poster spotlight
(a 2-minute presentation) in the conference theatre.


The poster abstracts will be published in a booklet with ISBN number
distributed at the conference. 

Organizing Committee

Main organizer:

Auke Ijspeert, EPFL 


Aude Billard, EPFL 
Dario Floreano, EPFL
Wulfram Gerstner, EPFL 
Martin Hasler, EPFL 
Henry Markram, EPFL 
Misha Rabinovich, UCSD
Al Selverston, UCSD 

Local chair:
Jonas Buchli, EPFL

Email contacts: Auke.Ijspeert -at- epfl.ch   and   Jonas.Buchli -at-

More information about the Comp-neuro mailing list